Tuition rates are subject to change by the General Assembly. Engineering students: Please see the Engineering Enhancement Fee FAQs.
Tuition & Fees for the Fall and Spring semesters.
(The Summer semester is billed hourly. Those rates are listed separately.)
2016-17 Fixed Tuition
In -State Residents*
|12+ (full time)||$3,615.25||$3,574.75||$12,289.25|
|9 - 11||$2,719.56||$2,689.19||$9,225.06|
|6 - 8||$1,823.88||$1,803.63||$6,160.88|
|1 - 5||$928.19||$918.07||$3,096.69|
Students participating in the Teacher Licensure Program pay the same tuition and fee rates as undergraduate students.
Parent's wishing to make a payment online will need to be setup as an Authorized User in ePayment located in the Student's OnePort account.
*Beginning in 2016-2017, each entering class of North Carolina resident undergraduates has “fixed tuition” — a rate locked in for eight consecutive semesters. See 'North Carolina Fixed Tuition Program' below for additional information.
Special Office Hours: Saturday & Sunday, August 17/18th - 11am to 4pm
If you would like to request a payment deferment, please complete the Fall 2019 Payment Deferment Request Application. You will need to be logged into your UNCA email account in order to complete the form.
Summer 2019 Costs
Summer Tuition and Fee Costs (per credit hour):
|Student Type||Cost per Credit Hour||Example: 3 Hour Course|
|Undergraduate, In-State Resident||$296.80||$890.40 ($1,187.20 - 4 hours)|
|Undergraduate, Out-of-State Resident||$624.80||$1,874.40|
|Graduate, In-State Resident||$397.80||$1,193.40|
|Graduate, Out-of-State Resident||$869.80||$2,609.40|
Distance Learning Student Costs:
|Student Type||Cost per Credit Hour|
|Undergraduate, In-State Resident||$155.81|
|Undergraduate, Out-of-State Resident||$720.77|
Visit the Summer School & Intern Housing Website for Summer Housing Costs.
Payment for courses taken in May are due on May 7th. Payment for all other summer courses is due on May 20th. If a student plans on using financial aid for summer courses, that financial aid must be listed on their account prior to the billing due date.
Billing and Due Dates
|Billing Date||Due Date|
|Fall||July 10th||August 1st|
|Spring||November 22nd||December 15th|
|Summer||April 20th||May 20th|
Students are expected to pay any portion of their bill that will not be covered by financial aid, scholarships, Voc Rehab, VA benefits, or a payment plan by the due date.
Students Who Are Not Registered by Billing Date
Students who register or add classes resulting in additional charges after the due due will be expected to pay the charges at that time.
North Carolina Fixed Tuition Program
As a benefit to North Carolina resident students, the UNC System is implementing the Fixed Tuition Program as defined by North Carolina General Statute § 116-143.9. Beginning with the fall 2016 semester, incoming UNC Asheville in-state undergraduate degree-seeking students are eligible for the same tuition rate for eight continuous enrollment semesters. Incoming transfer students are eligible for the same tuition rate for eight continuous enrollment semesters less the number of equivalent transfer semesters. Required fees are not included in the tuition rate and may increase annually.
As a one-time provision, currently enrolled in-state undergraduate degree-seeking students at UNC Asheville are also eligible for the same tuition rate for eight continuous enrollment semesters, less the number of semesters they have attended previously, less the number of equivalent transfer semesters.
Continuous enrollment is defined as a student being consecutively enrolled at UNC Asheville for the fall and spring semesters in courses creditable toward a baccalaureate degree. Students are not required to be enrolled during the summer term(s) to maintain continuous enrollment.
One equivalent transfer semester is defined as 0-15 hours of accepted transfer credit post high school.
When a student is not enrolled in two consecutive semesters, excluding summer, at UNC Asheville they will lose their eligibility for their existing fixed tuition rate. The student can take advantage of fixed tuition later, but their eligibility must be recalculated and will reflect the prevailing tuition rate at the time they return.
The statute includes some flexibility regarding students who encounter a substantial disruption in their continuous enrollment due to military service obligation, serious medical debilitation, short-term or long-term disability, or other extraordinary hardship.
For more information see our Fixed Tuition Website.
2019/20 Residence Hall & Meal Plan Charges
|Resident Meal Plan||$2,107.00|
|Standard Double - Founders Hall, Governors Hall, Mills Hall, South & West Ridge Halls||$2,723.00|
|Double - Ponder Hall||$2,800.00|
|Double - The Woods||$3,685.00|
|Single - Governors Hall/Village||$3,465.00|
|Single - Ponder Hall||$3,568.00|
|Single - The Woods||$4,149.00|
|Year Round - The Woods (Double)||$4,708.00|
|Year Round - The Woods (Single)||$5,300.00|
*Charges per semester
2019/20 Graduate & Distance Learning Costs (per semester)
Graduate Student Costs:
|Graduate Students||In-State Residents||Out-of-State Residents|
|9, 10 or 11 semester hours (full time)||$4,011.25||$12,172.25|
|6, 7 or 8 semester hours (3/4 time)||$3,016.56||$9,137.31|
|3, 4 or 5 semester hours (1/2 time)||$2,021.88||$6,102.38|
|1 or 2 semester hours (1/4 time)||$1,027.19||$3,067.44|
Distance Learning Student Costs:
|Distance Learning Students||In-State Residents||Out-of-State Residents|
Undergraduate Cost (Per Credit Hour)
|Graduate Cost (Per Credit Hour)||$258.68||$1,058.78|
- Lateral entry teachers pay the distance learning costs.
- Payment is due on the first day of classes.